Arundhati Roy features in the Man Booker Prize 2017 Longlist


ArundhatiThe longlist, or ‘Man Booker Dozen’, for the Man Booker Prize is out and it is a pleasure to see The Ministry Of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy (India) (Hamish Hamilton) on the list.

The 2017 longlist, or Man Booker ‘Dozen’, of 13 novels, includes 4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster (US) (Faber & Faber); Days Without End by Sebastian Barry (Ireland) (Faber & Faber); History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund (US) (Weidenfeld & Nicolson); Exit West by Mohsin Hamid (Pakistan-UK) (Hamish Hamilton); Solar Bones by Mike McCormack (Ireland) (Canongate); Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor (UK) (4th Estate); Elmet by Fiona Mozley (UK) (JM Originals); The Ministry Of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy (India) (Hamish Hamilton); Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders (US) (Bloomsbury Publishing); Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie (UK-Pakistan) (Bloomsbury Circus); Autumn by Ali Smith (UK) (Hamish Hamilton); Swing Time by Zadie Smith (UK) (Hamish Hamilton) and The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (US) (Fleet).

This year’s longlist of 13 books was selected by a panel of five judges: Baroness Lola Young (Chair); literary critic, Lila Azam Zanganeh; Man Booker Prize shortlisted novelist, Sarah Hall; artist, Tom Phillips CBE RA; and travel writer, Colin Thubron CBE. The list was chosen from 144 submissions published in the UK between 1 October 2016 and 30 September 2017.

You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.