Kalachuvadu Publications wins coveted ‘Publisher of the Year Award’


Kalachuvadu Publications — the noted publishing house of books in Tamil, which discovered and published internationally renowned writers like Perumal Murugan and Salma — emerged the winner in the Publisher of the Year category of Publishing Next Industry Industry Awards. The fifth edition of the annual Awards were presented at a ceremony in New Delhi. Nagercoil-based Kalachuvadu was among 11 winners and 10 runners-up who received the honours that were presented in 10 categories. The runners up in this category was HarperCollins Publishers India Ltd.

Since its inception in 2014, the annual Publishing Next Industry Awards (PNIA) recognise and reward talent, initiative, entrepreneurship and quality in book publishing, across publishers of all sizes, and in all Indian languages. Established under the aegis of the Publishing Next Conference, a platform furthering discussion and networking within the book publishing industry, the Publishing Next Industry Awards seek to celebrate innovation and leadership in the Indian book trade.

The Illustrator of the Year 2018, a newly introduced category in the Awards, was won by Sonali Zohra, with the runner-up honour bagged by Rajiv Eipe.

The Bookstore of the Year 2018 was awarded to Trilogy Bookstore in Mumbai, with the Bhubaneswar-based bookstore, Walking BookFairs, emerging as the runner-up this year. Premanka Goswami (Penguin Random House India) won Editor of the Year award, with AienlaOzukum (Aleph Book Company) as the runner-up.

Book Cover of the Year (Indian Languages) award was given to M. Rohini forher design of the cover of Peruvali, published by Kalachavadu Publications while Saurabh Garge for his design of the cover of Do Log, published by HarperCollins India was the runner-up.

Book Cover of the Year (English) was awarded to Pooja Saxena for her design of the cover of Centrepiece, published by Zubaan while runner-up was Haitenlo Semy, for his design of the cover of Jadoowallahs, Jugglers and Jinns: A Magical History of India, published by Pan Macmillan India.

Illustrated Book of the Year award went to The Konyaks: Last of the Tattooed Headhunters, published by Roli Books while runner-up was Vivan Sundaram: History Project published by Tulika Books, Delhi.

Children’s Book of the Year award was jointly presented to A Book for Puchku, published by Pratham Books and to Salim Mamoo and Me, published by Tulika Publishers, Chennai while runner-up was Dance of the Wild published by Pickle Yolk Books.

Printed Book of the Year (Indian Languages) award went to Janamaru Marana, published by Dhauli Books while Avasthantarachya Kavita, published by Copper Coin Publishing was the runner-up.

Printed Book of the Year (English) award was won by Sair-ul-Manazil, published by Tulika Books, Delhi while Remnants of a Separation: A History of the Partition through Material Memory, published by HarperCollins Publishers India Ltd was runner-up.

Before the presentation, at a panel discussion on the topic, “Truth and Morality: What’s Publishing got to do with it’, the speakers included Vivek Mehra, Karthika VK, Raman Shreshta (Rachna Bookstore) and Rihan Najib (books editor at the Hindu Business Line’s magazine, Blink). The discussion was chaired by Arpita Das, publisher of Yoda Press.

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.