New team takes over at the API


The Association of Publishers in India (API), the trade body of global publishers with representation in India, held their AGM and annual elections. The new team elected by a comfortable majority comprises Vikas Gupta, MD – Wiley India as president; Ratnesh Jha, MD – Cambridge University Press as vice president; Nitasha Devasar, MD – Taylor and Francis India as secretary; Yash Mehta, director, Macmillan India as joint secretary and Sanjiv Gupta, CFO, Penguin-Random House India as treasurer.

Rohit Kumar, outgoing president, representing Relex Group congratulated the team and welcomed the increased participation from members in the affairs of the association. To further this, Vikas Gupta, incoming president, announced the setting up of several sub committees to work collectively on the key concerns of publishing and allied industries including copyright awareness, open access, the challenges to school education, taxation, etc. for both the print and digital domains as well as engaging with the government, trade associations and research bodies.

The API members represent all global publishers who publish in India or have a presence in India. These publishers have contributed to Indian publishing with global best practices, bringing many Indian authors to wider world markets as well as enabling global content to be available in locally, at market competitive prices. To raise awareness of the publishing industry in India the API engaged AG Nielsen to conduct a sizing survey of the industry. The report was launched during the Frankfurt book fair in mid-October 2015.

You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.