New executive body for DSBPA


Nirmala Gupta receives lifetime achievement award
The 60th annual general meeting of Delhi State Booksellers’ & Publishers’ Association (DSBPA) was recently held in New Delhi. KK Saxena, president, DSBPA, introduced and welcomed the chief guest Amit Khare, joint secretary (BP & Copyright), Ministry of HRD, Govt of India and all attendees. He informed that it is a single largest body of book publishers and booksellers comprising of 400 members, dedicated to books and education. The association, which was established in the year 1942, is actively involved in promoting books and protecting the book industry, besides organizing the export awareness activities, children publishing forums, etc. “The publishing industry plays a vital role in education. We are now focusing on offering quality literature and using ethical business practices. We are 68 years young organisation,” remarked Saxena.

Speaking at the occasion, Amit Khare said that he was happy to know that the association has completed so many successful years. “India is developing at a rate of 8-9 percent per annum, the effect of which is visible not only in metros but in villages as well. Amit also informed about the National Book Promotion Policy (NBPP) which will be implemented from July 2011. The draft of the policy has been formulated. He also said that the use of audio books and ebooks will increase and it is a challenge for the publishers to use these upcoming technologies for their benefit.

Besides, Nirmala Gupta, chairperson and MD, S. Chand Group was conferred with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Then, there was a session where members could express their views, suggestions and problems to the association. One of the members AS Chaudhary suggested that publishers should maintain quality standards. “Sometimes same book has 2-3 colour paper, sometimes even different grammages, which are not acceptable in the international market,” he said. Another member Vivek Garg of Manas Publications raised the issue of sealing on Ansari Road for which all publishers should come together, he also said that there should be duty-free import of paper.

Vice president, Anil Mittal gave the concluding remarks and then the current Executive Committee was dissolved and the charge was given over to BR Chawla of Heritage Publishers to elect the new Executive Committee. The new body was unanimously elected and constituted: Parmil Mittal of

DK Publishers Distributors Pvt Ltd as president, Ranbir Singh Kushvah of Infotech Standards India Pvt Ltd as vice president, KK Saxena of Aakar Books as secretary, Surya K Mittal of Peak Books Pvt Ltd as joint secretary and Manish Sabharwal of Varun Book International  as the treasurer. Parmil Mittal expressed his thanks for being a part of the team again and asked the members to send in their suggestions for further improvement.

You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.